7 Minutes in Heaven

I never played that game because I was home schooled.

This post pertains to my favorite thing- eggs! It’s no big secret I love them. I even have eggs listed on my top 6 things I can’t live without on OkCupid! At some point last year I learned I have been hard/soft cooking them wrong my whole life! My grandma always stressed 20 minutes for boiling so I wouldn’t get salmonella. The end result was always a rubbery white and dry chalky yolk. My grandma would tell me the yolks were full moons so I would eat them. A much later teenage obsession with all things Austen and Brit Lit led me to discover 5 minute eggs. You know, the ones that get their own holder that looks like a candlestick and special little spoon. It kind of grossed me out, so i just continued to think British people ate weird things.

One fateful day last October, during my first Whole30, I was seriously stalking HomeSweetHomestead’s blog. This babe is living my dream, basically. She has chickens! (More on that later!) When you own chickens you eat a whole lot of eggs. After what seemed like a continuous scroll of photos of 7 minute eggs, I knew I had found my magic number. Processed with VSCOcam with e8 preset

7 Minute Eggs

  1. Bring a small pot of water to a boil.
  2. Lower eggs in with a spoon.
  3. Cover pot. Lower heat to medium. Cook for 7 minutes.
  4. Remove from pot and run under cool water.
  5. Peel. Salt. Dill. Enjoy!

Processed with VSCOcam with e8 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with e8 preset

I am a fan of eggs cooked all ways, but this may be my favorite. For the sake of time and because my name is not Sheila. Sheila makes the best scrambled eggs on the planet. During the Whole30 these guys were my go to breakfast, paired with sliced apples and almond butter or lightly roasted asparagus. And coffee, always coffee. I put these eggs on a pedestal. Processed with VSCOcam with e8 preset Processed with VSCOcam with e8 preset Processed with VSCOcam with e8 preset Processed with VSCOcam with e8 preset Processed with VSCOcam with e8 preset

If you like a runnier yolk, may I suggest less on the timer. If you prefer the opposite, aim for 8-10 minutes. I will stick with 7 for now.

Side note: I have really been thinking about getting chickens. Currently trying to figure out how that would work with cats.

4 thoughts on “7 Minutes in Heaven

  1. Eggs are by far my favorite food and giving them up was the hardest part about deciding to eat a vegan diet. This post is killing me. They look so good.

Leave a Reply

