Small Space, Dream Space | Styling with Chairish

A few weeks ago I was approached via my blog by a company called Chairish to do some  e-styling. Of course after browsing their online catalog, I was totally down for any sort of collaboration! In case you didn’t know, Chairish (what an adorable, punny play on words!) is an online consignment for vintage furniture. Their site allows for individuals to buy and sell pre-loved decor to one another. Go ahead and visit their website! If you’re anything like me, have a mop handy- I drooled over a Chesterfield sofa and multiple Persian rugs…

For this e-styling venture, I was sent a selection of vintage bar stools and asked to create and style my perfect home bar. My brain automatically thought of two things: 1. Tiffany of Offbeat & Inspired’s cozy DIY cafe corner, and 2. Chicago’s Longman & Eagle’s dining and bar spaces. I absolutely love reclaimed wood combined with, say, vintage glassware and an old rug. Before I could take these ideas and run with them, I had to choose a bar stool. I felt like Tamra from The Real Housewives of OC when she was shopping for a wedding dress. First you have to choose the dress, then you plan your wedding around it. In my case, I had to design a space around a single piece of furniture! I chose a pair of Mid-Century wicker bar stools.

my choice

My ideal bar space is not just for sloshing and slanging drinks all night with friends, family, and cats. I wanted to design a space where I could sit and enjoy my morning coffee or arrange fresh farmers market flowers on a cloudy afternoon. Where mixology meets productivity. I wanted it to be multipurpose space. Add in some elements of Americana and muted yet classic colors, and you will have my dreamy space, which is only a figment of mine and my blog’s imagination at the moment. styling idea 1

I went to brands I knew and brands I love: West Elm, Anthropologie, Crate & Barrel,  and Restoration Hardware, to complete the big picture. (For more details, see the end of this post.) I am finally at the point in my life where my personal style has been nailed down. No more purple accent walls and Eiffel Tower posters of the college years. These days I lean more toward natural tones, fibers, and textures and a color palette some call boring. I guess living folk would be the trendy way of describing it.

For the most part, I tried to keep with the common Mid-Century theme. I love the smooth contours seen in most pieces of the time period. I also wanted a palette of mainly primary colors. nothing too flashy. Something I wanted to add but did not have a space was a hanging kitchen herb garden for a wall or window. I loved putting fresh herbs in my drinks, so this is necessary and also adds to the natural vibe I wanted to create. Moscow mules are also the beverage I am currently crushing on. Check out this recipe I found for a blueberry mule here! How good would that be with a few sprigs of basil or rosemary added?

 

Can I just say how grateful I am that I was approached to do this post? Styling is one of those new found passions that manifested from a love of food, vintage, decor, and photography of the mentioned subjects. Thanks for the opportunity Chairish!

 

Cheers!

Vintage Americana

Leave a Reply

