Over the Weekend: Food Food Food

I probably have talked about my 3 favorite F words: fun, friends, and food. Usually, I don’t really have one without the other. I’d say the weekend encompassed all three, but placed the most emphasis on FOOD.

Finally finally finally I joined the CSA I had been meaning to for quite some time. My friend Elizabeth are going to split the $100 a month cost. This is a good thing in so many ways, plus I don’t think I could eat that many veggies in one week, even if I wanted to! Besides our huge share box, we picked up a few other things at the market, including farm fresh eggs, gluten free and all natural dog treats, and my favorite sunflower sprouts from another local farm. What a beautiful haul! And all organic and locally grown!

Image

The market day did not stop there! My friend Jessica and I adventured to Plano. She was on the search for some special pistachios. We found them at a Persian market nestled between a swimming lessons store and an auto garage. The little shop was filled with so many interesting things! Saffron rock candy anyone? I made it home with poppy seeds, red lentils, chickpea flour, dried squash seeds, orange blossom honey, fresh dill, sheep cheese (OMG!), and the biggest bag of basmati rice. I can’t wait to turn that rice bag into a purse!….give me about a year!

Image

Image

ImageImage

I love getting to sample and purchase a variety of foods from all over. Sometimes from my own backyard, others way over on the other side of the world, it’s always an experience for me and my taste buds!

The rest of the weekend was filled with planning what to make with all my delicious new foods, pool time, and Breaking Bad theory discussion. I hope you all had a lovely weekend!

*If you are interested in joining a CSA and live in the North Texas Area, consider Earthwise. Find out more information here!

4 thoughts on “Over the Weekend: Food Food Food

Leave a Reply

