52 Weeks of Baking: Bread for Beginners

I remember the first time I made bread. I was however old you are in the 2nd grade. We made “unleavened” bread at some retreat before my first communion. Basically the ingredients were flour, salt, and water. Basically the bread tasted like shit. I think that may have been the point though.

My second attempt at bread was beer bread. Yeah, 13 year old Annie definitely made this with the intention of getting drunk. She didn’t know how the science of baking worked back then. The bread didn’t turn out that great anyway.

Other than those two anecdotes, I don’t really have that much experience with baking bread! I feel like I never have the time to dedicate to the process, though I often dream of being an artisan baker. How cool would that be? This weekend I learned how to bake an easy, no frills version using my favorite kitchen utensil: my cast iron skillet! I’d say this is the perfect bread for beginners. I mainly followed this recipe, but substituted whole wheat flour. Also, my new neighbors do not have a rosemary bush….

Ingredients

1 package active dry yeast

2 cups lukewarm water

4 1/3 cups whole wheat flour

1/2 tbs kosher salt

olive oil

The Process

1. Combine yeast and warm water in a large bowl.

2. Using a wooden spoon, stir in 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 1/2 tbs kosher salt.

3. Stir in the rest of the flour 1 cup at a time until completely incorporated.

4. Cover with plastic wrap and let rise for a little over and hour.

5. Sprinkle a little bit of flour on top of the dough. With floured hands, form the dough into a disc shape. DO NOT KNEED!

6. Lightly oil the cast iron skillet. Place the dough in the skillet, cover with a towel, and allow to rise for one more hour.

7. Brush the top of your bread with more olive oil and sprinkle with salt.

8. Bake in a pre-heated oven at 400 degrees for 40 minutes.

Image

This was seriously the easiest thing ever! I can’t wait to be more adventurous with my bread baking as the year progresses! 50 weeks to go.

6 thoughts on “52 Weeks of Baking: Bread for Beginners

  1. Oh my gaaaaw. Thank you for this post b/c it’s one of the rare and magical moments where I have everything I need to make this recipe already in the house. Do you think rice flour would work okay?

    • Oh girl! This makes me happy! Easiest bread ever! I am not sure about rice flour though…that would make this recipe gluten free, and I think the bread making process has to be executed differently. Something to research! I would just look at 2 recipes side-by-side and make substitutions as necessary!

      Bread baking experiments!

  2. Pingback: Olive & Basil bread | Keli Paan

  3. Pingback: Artisan Bread, not as hard as you think | Madeline Scribes

Leave a Reply

