Spicy Cucumber Salad

Fortunately for me, I get to live out one of my lifelong dream once a month each month as my department’s event planner. I love planning parties, and not to brag or anything, I am actually really good at it! This may be because I love a good theme, but most likely attributed to my control freak ways. I love being in charge and telling people what to do and when and how to do it! Kind of strange for my part-time introvert personality, but oh well. Today I executed our August birthday party. I thought I was going to be the only person making something, but boy was I wrong! we ended up with not one, not two, but THREE types of banana bread! Shit was ba-na-nasssssssssss!

Themes. I was not feeling very creative when planning this party. My sole inspiration at first was a picture of a dog I found on the internet. He was wearing sunglasses and hanging by a pool. This dog was too cool for school & a day job! Then it hit me how I was not by a pool in sunglasses. Hmmmm. It’s hot outside, why not plan a cool themed party!

Image

Check out those awesome Paint skills…

You know what else is really cool? Cucumbers! People put them on their eyes to reduce puffiness. Cucumber infused water is a diuretic. And they are the hipster stage of pickles! I decided to combine my affinity for pico de gallo and the coolness of cucumbers to create a refreshing yet equally spicy cucumber salad!

Image

Ingredients

3 cucumbers

2 jalapenos, diced

1/2 purple onion, diced

1 bunch cilantro, chopped

1 can sweet yellow corn, drained and rinsed

the juice of 1-2 large limes

8 oz queso fresco

2 tsp ground cumin

1 tsp chipotle powder

1 tbs garlic powder

sea salt and fresh black pepper to taste

Image

Image

The Process

1. Wash all of your veggies to make sure they are clean! Some of the produce I used came from the community market here in Denton. Local and organic, yay!

Image

2. Peel and halve your cucumbers lengthwise, then slice the halves. Also known as quartering!ImageImage

3. Chop and dice your onion, cilantro, and jalapenos. I prefer to work with the jalapenos last, that way my hands do not burn as much at the end of the process. I also added all seeds to the salad for spice factor.

ImageImage

4. Douse all of your chopped veggies with spices and lime Juice and stir together with the corn in a large bowl.

Image

Image

5. Queso freso is the cherry on top of any tex-mex dish, in my opinion. It’s alright to be generous! ImageImage

This salad is filling without leaving you feeling weighed down. The most unhealthy parts, corn and cheese, make it! They really add some sweetness to counterbalance the chipotle and jalapenos.

I highly recommend this recipe for a summer party! If you chop fast, you can really throw it together in 10-15 minutes! Oooo, now if only I had a margarita to go with!

XOXOXO

3 thoughts on “Spicy Cucumber Salad

Leave a Reply

