52 Weeks of Baking

At some point in my future, I would love to enter the world professional baking. Unfortunately, being a full time library girl doesn’t translate, in my opinion, to mass cupcake production that well on a resume. I have read that a degree in culinary arts is not necessarily a necessity, and I really like being debt free! Why not use my blog as a portfolio? Hence my reason to bake for 52 weeks.

Over the next year I plan to challenge myself as a baker. Some weeks it may be making my own pastry dough while other will be making myself get in the kitchen!

In the spirit of New Orleans and wine night, I decided to start off on the easy side with brownies. Cafe du Monde brownies!

Image

Ingredients

1/2 cup coconut oil

1 1/4 tsp vanilla

1 cup granulated sugar

2 eggs

1/2 cup flour

1/2 cup cocoa powder

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup chilled Cafe du Monde coffee

powdered sugar for dusting

Image

  1. In a large mixing bowl, combine oil, sugar, and vanilla.
  2. Beat in eggs.
  3. In a separate bowl, combine flour, salt, and baking powder. Slowly add the dry mixture to the wet.
  4. Once batter is prepared, stir in the chilled coffee.
  5. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes
  6. Let cool. Dust with powdered sugar. Serve. Voila!

These brownies were a hit at my first wine night! So much that I didn’t get to take any photos/enjoy any leftovers! Next time, I would love to experiment with different types of chocolate! Decadence.

Image

I would love to get your input about baking! Is there anything you would like for me to try to attempt, excluding French macaroons?

Happy Baking!

4 thoughts on “52 Weeks of Baking

    • Thanks Abby! You totally should!! Hopefully I’ll hold myself accountable….it’s a bit easier when sweets are involved πŸ˜‰

  1. UM YES! My husband will be so happy! All your New Orleans adventures have made me want to go so badly! I’ve never been, but Nathan loves that town. We are thinking of going around Christmas!

    • New Orleans is beautiful during Christmas! From concerts at St. Louis Cathedral to the lit up trees in City Park, the city comes alive in a whole different way! You can find the best hotel deals in December, too! And the weather is much much cooler than August, oh man.

      You guys should totally go! I think you’d love it!

Leave a Reply

