Friday Favorites 8.16

Last week, I spent a very sweaty couple of days in my favorite city with my dad and 2 of my 3 sisters. New Orleans, NOLA, the Big Easy, Crescent City, call it what you want, is the land of Creole and crayfish! My favorite place to be..just not during the month of August, haha! Kidding. New Orleans is the home to so many of my favorite things. Things you can’t find anywhere else!

Image

If you follow me on INSTAGRAM then you probably know alllll about my little Nola getaway. Last week was crazy! The day I got back from the TXSC conference I moved into my new apartment house, went to work for 1 day, then caught a plane. It was so nice to be in “the City that Care Forgot” with the people I love most. Not having to pay for any meals was also swell. Thank God my dad is a foodie! And the food here is the best you will ever have. Seafood and spice and everything nice. Plus poboys. Plus fried chicken. Plus jambalaya. Plus….I could write forever about Nola’s food! Sadly, this time around I didn’t take a shit ton of food pics. I will leave you with my Nola Favorites Top 10 List! instead!

Annie’s Nola Favorites Top 10 List

1. Cemeteries. Fun fact: Did you know that the words cemetery and graveyard are not interchangeable? Graveyards are burial grounds adjacent to a church whereas a cemetery is strictly a resting place. There are churches on pretty much every corner in Nola, but they keep the dead people separate. A few Canal St. cemeteries are in pretty close proximity to churches…So maybe they overlooked the real meaning of the word? Anyway. I love dead people? That sounds weird. Nola falls below sea level so all the dead must be buried above ground in elaborate stone crypts and mausoleums, making the city truly unique. I really want to visit the St. Louis #1 on Basin St. in the Treme….but Travel Advisor says no way, Jose! #sketch

Image

Image

2. The French Quarter: Mainly Decatur and lots of side streets. Le duh! Bourbon St. is a little too crowded for me, but I am not at the age yet where I will complain. My mom hates Bourbon, Nola altogether really. She thinks it stinks! Double le duh! It’s built on a swamp, the city is constantly drunk, and almost everything in the FQ is covered in frat boy piss. And the roaches. I love and prefer Decatur! Last Thanksgiving I stayed at the French Market Inn, a haunted hotel built in the 1700s on Decatur. Centrally located and awesome! So many of the major sights can be seen here as well!

Image

Image

Image

Image

3. Cafe du Monde. Need I say more? Always busy. Always fresh. Beignets et cafe au lait.

Image

4. The National World War II Museum. This is probably my dad’s favorite, and a new one of mine! I am obsessed, no OBSESSED with European history. One of my favorite undergrad courses over WW I&II in Europe. This museum is huge! We’re talking 4+ buildings! We got to watch a doc in 4D hosted by Tom Hanks titled Beyond All Boundaries. Very interesting and interactive! Scroll down to see me covering my ears in a German bomb shelter!

Image

Image

Image

Image

ImageImage

Image

5. Sno Balls. Forget snow cones! We are not in Kansas (or anywhere else in the U.S. that isn’t Nola) anymore! These powdery, icy treats are native to the city and only really open during the summer months. Where Texas has Shiner Beer, Nola has a sno ball to cool you off! Usually a Plum St. kind of gal, I branched out and tried Hansen’s off Tchopitoulas. We went back  3 days in a row!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

6. Oak Street. That street name will forever hold a special place in my heart. I lived on the Denton version for a few years. It’s also home to my favorite bar, creatively named Oak Street Drafthouse haha! The Nola version is just as lovely. Home to a favorite brunch spot, the Oak St. Cafe, as well as a very eclectic consignment shop where the old lady owners still wear pillbox hats and items are always 75-90% off! Hello vintage Pucci for real cheap! It also turns out that we are the long-lost relatives of the Haase’s Shoes store owners!

Image

Image

Image

Image

7. FREE Citrus. Well I guess not technically, but I always manage to make it home with a few lemons or limes I snagged from a tree in the Garden District! Locally grown and organic!

Image

8. Hoods. Treme, French Quarter, Garden District, Mid City, Uptown, Marigny, Bywater, New Orleans is divided into so many neighborhoods! My favorites are the Garden District/Uptown and Mid City. We went to rock and bowl, and then promptly discovered how bad my family as a whole is at bowling. I think my highest score was a 23…. Bumpers, please! Oh yeah, New Orleans definitely has it fair share of ‘hoods’ too. Lil Wayne reps the city! Holly Grove what what?

Image

9. Magazine Street. So yeah I have a thing for streets. Magazine has so many cool shops and restaurants! Definitely one of my favorites!

Image

10. THE FOOD!!! I saved the best for last! As you read way up there, Nola has the best food. You also know I didn’t take any pictures. I will leave you with one of my favorites: Parkway! In Mid City! I always get the Reuben….but their poboys are the size of my arm!

Image

Have any of you guys been to New Orleans? If so, what are your favorite places to visit? If not, please let me be your virtual tour guide! I know so much!

Hope you all have a happy Friday and a lovely weekend!

5 thoughts on “Friday Favorites 8.16

  1. The WWII Museum is definitely on my bucket list! Have you been to the Carousel Bar at Hotel Monteleone? I’ve been dying to go back to NOLA. It’s been years and I have so much family there so there’s no excuse! My aunt is even a tour guide and wrote a guide book about the city. We’ll hopefully get out there this fall 🙂 So glad you had a blast, and those pictures are awesome.

    • Thanks, Dale! I had a great time and I can’t wait to visit again. The city never gets old 🙂 I have been to the Carousel bar! My Dad took me last summer! He used to sneak into their pool as a teenager haha!

      Apparently is WWII museum is the #1 tourist attraction! A must! Hopefully you’ll get to head east soon, see some family and some sights! Have a good weekend!

  2. I LOVE NOLA! It’s such a short drive from Houston too — I mean, not “short” in the traditional sense, but short for a drive out out of Texas. I love Cafe du Monde & the French Quarter & the cemeteries. Last time I was there we did a vampire tour and it was awesome (pre-Twilight, so it’s been a while). Um, this is terrible, but I didn’t know about the WWII museum and now I really want to go. My thesis was “Women in Wartime: WWII, Vietnam, and Iraq” — interest piqued!

  3. Our first time to the big easy wasn’t so great. Had friends tag along and our taste in foods, sights, etc. were too different. So I’m researching NO again and found a lot of good information on your page. My favorite place to go was cafe du monde. We ate at some upscale restaurants, don’t remember the names, just not our style. Did you try Mother’s? They seem to come highly recommended. Also I loved Preservation Hall. Will go back. Didn’t get to see any cemetery’s :o(

    • Hello Susie! Thanks for stopping by to check out my blog! New Orleans is a great place, but since there is so much to see and do being on the same page as your travel companions is a must! Mother’s is great, though the no frills atmosphere was completely unexpected! Antoine’s and Brennan’s are great higher end eateries and Preservation Hall is a classic!

      Cafe du Monde is great because it’s open 24 hours! I would love to send you more recommendations catered to your interests/ where you plan to stay! Virtual tour guide! 🙂

Leave a Reply

