DIY: All Chalked Up

During my semester very brief stint as an art student, I learned that when it comes to painting (like studio art), I have no talent whatsoever. I actually suck at various forms of art, certainly but not limited to painting and drawing. I can paint a mean wall though! And do kindergarten crafts that would make any classroom look like a dream!

About a month ago I bought a can of chalkboard paint. I am still not sure what I was intending on painting, but checked out with the blind hope that I’d find something if not anything and everything. Seriously, I love chalkboard paint so much. I really have to restrain myself when it comes to DIYing. Like a kid in a GD candy store! It’s everything it’s chalkedΒ up to be. Isn’t that a saying? Punny!

Image

So about a few days less than a month ago, I found something to cover in chalkboard paint. That happened real fast. I bought these shelves from Ikea 2 years ago and never hung them up. When I say shelves I really just mean unfinished and unpainted wooden boards that you attach to the wall with brackets. I got 2 that were the same size and 1 big one. Once I got home, I figured out that I would never actually hang that big boy up, so they sat in the corner of my bedroom for 2 years!

Image

Needless to say, he was painted. All I was really waiting for was chalk! I bought some on my way home from work with the intention of sprucing that plank up, just in time for my first wine night of the year!

Image

Before starting, I went to Pinterest to find help about chalking. I found a Β post on Indie ParadeΒ that was super helpful, though it didn’t really work for me. They did give me some lettering inspiration! I ended up drawing freehand, as you’ll be able to tell from my “caligraphy”. It has been many moons since the days when I made super cute “Shake your Fanny & Vote for Annie” StuCo posters… Here is what you will need for your chalking endeavor:

paper towels

a small bowl of water

q-tips

chalk

Image

I read somewhere, sometime ago that wetting your chalk makes it easier to write with. Oh man, am I sure glad I read that somewhere, sometime ago! It really does!

Image

Image

Write your little heart out! If you mess up, those q-tips and paper towels dipped in water are your magic erasers! No one will ever be able to tell that you accidentally wrote whine instead of wine! (I swear I haven’t had any yet! And we do more bitching than whining haha!)

Image

Image

If not straight from the bottle, we like to drink out of mason jars…..plus, I only took 4 wine glasses when dividing the dishes before the official Pearl House split.

I hope all of y’all have a lovely Thursday evening! May it be filled with quality friends. I wish I could say the same for my wine choices!

XOXO

3 thoughts on “DIY: All Chalked Up

  1. I am super jealous I am not able to attend wine night. Also, it turned out beautifully. I am looking for something to “chalk” lately as well — as a former high school teacher, I have a desperate obsession with chalkboards and colored chalk.
    xx Abby | a geek tragedy

Leave a Reply

