Black and Blue Banana Bread Bunt

Whooooa, talk about alliteration! I think my I will credit my baking/cooking inspiration over the next week to my upcoming move. I want to quickly but surely get rid of a lot of the items in my freezer, fridge, and pantry. I hate wasting food, so expect some creativity with my upcoming recipes! Kamikaze pastas dishes, probably a few more tarts, and quinoa salads/stuffed peppers galore! Oh yeah, and more than likely a tilapia overload.

Today’s post is brought to you by all the fruit I had stashed in my freezer! If I know something is going to go bad, I normally stick it in the freezer as a last change of saving grace. I had a plethora of blue and blackberries as well as a few bananas, and wanted to try subbing coconut oil for butter.

By now you should know I am a fan of subbing things. In this particular instance, I subbed butter with coconut oil and buttermilk with Greek yogurt (that one was a given). This batter. Oh my Lawwwwwwwd! I could have eaten this batter straight up in a mug. If it were not for the raw eggs, there may not have been enough for my bunt pan.

Black and blue normally makes me think of bruises, not berries. I added these little pops of color for the sole purpose of getting rid of them. Turns out they added to the sweetness and alliteration!

Image

Ingredients

2 eggs

1/2 coconut oil, slightly melted

1 tbs 2% milk

1/3 cup Greek yogurt

1 1/4 cup sugar

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 tbs vanilla

2 cups flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp nutmeg

a dash of cinnamon

a pinch of salt

4 rip bananas, mashed (I used frozen)

1 cup frozen black and blueberries (totally optional, nuts would also be a nice sub)

1 tbs large sugar sprinkles (optional)

ImageImage

The Process

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together your eggs, coconut oil, milk,  Greek yogurt, sugars, and vanilla. ImageImageImage
  3. In a separate bowl, combine your flour, baking powder, baking soda, nutmeg, cinnamon, and salt. Incorporate your dry ingredients into your batter. Be sure to not beat the two together. Incorporating evenly distributes all ingredients and will make the final product lighter and less tough. ImageImage
  4. Stir in your mashed bananas and your frozen fruit. ImageImageImage
  5. As a final touch, I stirred in about 1 tbs of large sugar sprinkle. Just something extra! Image
  6. Pour your finished batter into a greased pan. I used a bunt. Bake for 45 minutes to 1 hour at 350 degrees until an inserted toothpick or butter knife comes out mostly clean. ImageImageImageImage
  7. Once finished baking, let your bread cool for about 20 minutes before flipping out of your bunt pan. Image See ya on the flipside! Image

I think I can honestly say this is the best banana bread I have ever made, Is credit due to using coconut oil instead? Or do I owe it all to using Greek yogurt in everything? Who knows! This was some damn good bread! I can’t wait to enjoy it for breakfast tomorrow!

ImageImage

Image

Ah, the joy of baking. Hope you all had a lovely Monday!

5 thoughts on “Black and Blue Banana Bread Bunt

  1. You should try peeling and cutting your bananas before you freeze them! Then you won’t have to deal with peeling a frozen banana, which I would imagine is hard. I do this and use frozen ripe banana in everything… especially smoothies and pancakes!

    • Hey Andrea! Thanks for stopping by! Actually I found a pretty easy technique for peeling a frozen banana: stick it in a cup of warm to hot water for about 30 seconds and the peel comes right off! It sheds its little banana skin no problem (wow that sounds kind of gross). I am just scared they will not last as long in the freezer if I peel them!

      Thanks for the tip! And I love frozen bananas in almost EVERYTHING! 🙂

    • Hi Meredith! Thanks for stopping by! 🙂 I absolutely adore your blog. Are you in the DFW area? Old South is the best!

  2. This looks so delicious! I love bananas and blueberries together, so blackberries should be a nice addition 🙂 can’t wait to try it!

Leave a Reply

