Over the Weekend: Technicolor Adventures

I am really starting to enjoy spending half of my weekend in Dallas. I feel like Dallas has been a constant in my life since Erin moved there last year. The good friends keep migrating, bringing with them good times and new experiences! After an afternoon surrounded by librarians, I made my way to Dallas with Kate Friday evening. The conference we attended was actually really fun as well a great networking opportunity. I even dropped my blog’s name a couple of times. All I could really think about on the way from Arlington to Dallas was how badly I wanted a margarita. After talking what seemed like all afternoon, my throat was parched! Of course we went to Gloria’s, where three margaritas is becoming one too many for me!

Image

Image

After dinner and an after dinner glass of wine, we made our way downtown to check out the Katharina Gross exhibit at the Nasher. The museum was hosting their Til Midnight event so we got in for free! An abundance of alcohol + mountains and trails of rainbow rocks and dirt made for quite the technicolor adventure!

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Goodness! I felt like I was walking in a dream! We explored the rest of the Nasher and then decided to say goodnight to downtown Dallas.

ImageImage

On Saturday, Kate and I headed back to Denton. Before beginning the process of packing up the rest of her stuff, she specifically requested soda and eggs. Haha. A sunny, outside brunch happened at 7 Mile that included soda and eggs of the poached variety & some shameless eavesdropping. We decided to put off packing just a little bit longer by attending an Estate Sale.

Image

This one took credit cards, yay! Sadly the vintage fans I was eyeing from their add had already been scooped up. I did make it home with a small milk glass vase and two records: Ella Fitzgerald sings Christmas and a Judy Collins album. Kate found some Garden Ridge bowls, a fan, and a few records, too! As always, it was nice to take a peek into someone’s house. This one was real interesting!

We only have one more weekend in the Pearl House. My my how time is flying! I still have so much to do and am beginning to feel overwhelmed. Kate went back to Dallas that afternoon, and Erin came down from Fort Worth. It was so nice to drink champagne and hang outside during a nice July night with Erin and Julie. Girl talk is something that is definitely being called for more and more in my life, especially after this rather rough week.

Image

I ended the weekend with a little too much time outside. I will not complain about this sunburn because it will more than likely turn into a tan over the next few days. After a rainy week, the sun’s rays felt really nice. The clouds were doing some cool things too!

Today was National Ice Cream Day!  Did you celebrate?

Image

I did twice! : )

I hope you all had a lovely weekend! I am looking forward to sharing more with you on top of tackling this week!

Leave a Reply

