A Thursday Tart: Changing Things Up!

I think I bought too much produce at the grocery store yesterday. I keep forgetting that I will be moving out of my house in less than 2 weeks. After buying a tub of fresh basil and an even bigger tub of baby spinach, I figured I’d better put all that green to use. I also may or may not have gone off the deep end when it comes to puff pastry dough. Is there a Grey Gardens for the culinary type? Send me away! It would probably be much more interesting than cooking school.

I really like tarts now, probs because they are so easy. (Can I still make that joke?) (Haha?) I normally end up making them on Tuesdays for the sole sake of alliteration. Today also starts with a T so I figured I’d change up the game.

Anyway, back to basil. Omg, i bought so much! Right off the bat I knew I wanted to include Goat cheese, mushrooms, and basil in this tart. My love of garlic and olive oil led me to pesto. You can totally make pesto without those pesky and EXPENSIVE pine nuts! P.S. I am also obsessed with goat cheese.

And so it happened, I created a mushroom & goat cheese tart with a simple spinach basil pesto. That was a mouthful. And a tasty one at that!

Image

Ingredients

2 cups baby spinach

4 cloves garlic, peeled

about 8-10 basil leaves

the juice of 1 small lemon

1/3 cup olive oil

2 tbs feta cheese

1/3 cup goat cheese

salt & pepper to taste

1/4th tsp paprika for some zing!

1/2 yellow onion, thinly sliced

about 1 cup ~7 brown mushrooms , thinly sliced

1 sheet puff pastry dough thawed

1 beaten egg for brushing dough

ImageImage

The Process

  1. Add feta, baby spinach, basil leaves, garlic cloves, spices, and olive oil to a blender and pulse until smooth! Who said you you need nuts to make a pesto! Green & smooth!Image
  2. Beat egg in a small cup and brush around the corners of your defrosted pastry dough. Add pesto to the center, like you are spreading sauce on a pizza! ImageImage
  3. Thinly slice your mushrooms and onions. Begin to layer them all on top of your pesto.              ImageImage
  4. Fold over the corners of your pastry dough and brush with your egg. Image
  5. Crumble or chop up your goat cheese and sprinkle on top. This week I used a different brand of goat cheese. It was so much better than the last brand yet cheaper? I feel like that is not how it normally goes… Still, goat cheese. Yum!
  6.  ImageImageImage
  7. Bake in a preheated oven at 350 degrees for 30 minutes until golden and flakey.
  8.  Image

 

 

Perfecto! I will probably make tarts a few more time between now and TxSC because I have tons of produce and puff pastry to be devoured.

Image

Sorry if this post is kind of rambly. I took a 3 hour break between typing for some wine and girl talk. So glad tomorrow is finally Friday!

XOXOXO

One thought on “A Thursday Tart: Changing Things Up!

  1. Yummy + Simple = happy camper. I’ve got a ton of basil in my backyard thanks to that amazing three day summer rain. Yay for pesto!

Leave a Reply

