Chorizo & Cheddar Pupusas

Pupusa is such a cute little word! I was actually reading up on the history of the popular Salvadoran dish and found out that after a civil war in the country, many of Salvadorans migrated to the U.S. One popular migration destination in particular was San Antonio! History Lesson! Although I have never been to one, there are now many pupusarias in San Antonio!

Actually, the first time I had a pupusa was a few weeks ago at Gloria’s in Dallas. Filled with pork and cheese, I thought to myself, ‘I could totally make these!’ After looking up some recipes I decided to embark on a culinary adventure a little bit farther south of the border.

Image

Traditionally, the insides of a pupusa consist of pork, queso blanco, and sometimes refried beans. In tonight’s version, I used beef chorizo, black beans, and cheddar cheese.

Ingredients

prepared masa mix, about 3 cups worth

1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

1 can black beans, rinsed and drained

1 tube all beef chorizo

Image

The Process

  1. In a nonstick skillet, mix chorizo and black beans. Cook until done. Drain any grease and transfer to a bowl.Image
  2. Grate cheddar cheese into a bowl. Roll masa mix into golf sized balls.Image
  3. Using my same method for making corn tortillas, roll out two circles between a freezer sized Ziplock bag.Β Image
  4. Place a spoonful of chorizo and black beans in the center of the ‘tortilla’ and top with shredded cheese. Put the other ‘tortilla’ on top and seal with your fingers. Put the pupusa back between the plastic bag and lightly flatten with a rolling pin.ImageImageImage
  5. Β Cook in an iron skillet for about 2 minutes on both sides until golden brownish.Β ImageImage

Traditionally pupusas are also served with a slaw called curtido. Unfortunately I did not have time to make any. Another unfortunately, these definitely were not as good as the pupusas from Gloria’s, but it was my first time making them. Always time to improve! I think for now I will just stick to Tex Mex cuisine,

One thought on “Chorizo & Cheddar Pupusas

  1. Pingback: Pupusas | Queith by Katherine Montero

Leave a Reply

