Blackberry & Lemon Cream Napoleons

My current roommate’s future roommate is opening a coffee shop/bakery in the future. Haha, try saying that five times fast! She is looking for a baker, and while I wholeheartedly wish I could take the position, it is only part time. Unfortunately anything part-time will not cover my bills, even with me living the Denton lifestyle. I have had pastries on the mind ever since! Last night I dreamed of making eclairs!

A coworker and I were talking about desserts last week and she told me that Napoleons were her favorite. Being the Francophile that I am, I immediately began looking up recipes. Did you know that I was only 6 credits short from being a French major? Oh la la la la la! Oui! C’est vrai!

I let the summer season dictate the direction I would take with this recipe, coming up with blackberries and lemons. I just love the combination! Image

Once again I used store bought puff pastry dough. One of these weekends I will make it myself from scratch, but during the week ain’t nobody got time fo dat!

Ingredients

1 sheet puff pastry dough, thawed

1 tbs butter, melted

1/2 cup blackberries, halved then put in freezer to keep stiff

1 cup powdered sugar for dusting

1 cup heavy whipping cream

2 1/2 tbs granulated sugar

1 tbs fresh lemon juice

1 tsp vanilla

ImageImage

The Process

Have you ever made whipped cream from scratch? I do it all the time if I have the time. It tastes so much better than that crap in an aerosol can, let me tell ya! It is also a wonderful arm workout! I may or may not have used an electric mixer this time around. I’ll never tell and you’ll never know!

  1. While your pastry dough is thawing, whisk together the 1 tbs of freshly squeezed lemon juice with your vanilla. Add your heavy whipping cream and beat it, just beat it until it becomes noticeably thicker (right before peaks start to form). Add your granulated sugar and continue to beat until firm, resembling whipped cream. put in the freezer until ready for use. ImageImageImageImage
  2. By this time, your puff pastry dough should be defrosted. Using a pizza cutter, cut along the seams to make three long rectangles. Cut these rectangles down the middle, vertically. If we were in elementary school, I think it would be hamburger?Image
  3. Take your blackberries out of the freezer and slice each one in half lengthwise. I put them in the freezer to keep them from berry bleeding all over the place. Image
  4. Melt your tbs of butter in a small cup and lightly brush each rectangle of puff pastry dough with it. Image
  5. Place between 7 and 10 blackberry halves in the center of each buttered rectangle and dust with powdered sugar. The sugar helps almost caramelize the berries while baking! Bake in a preheated oven at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. ImageImageImage
  6. When finished baking, remove from oven and let cool for about 2 minutes. Then, give all of your rectangles a good dusting with powdered sugar. Let cool for about 15-20 more minutes.ImageImageImage
  7. Once your dough is completely cooled, you may begin layering. Fruit pastry, whipped cream, fruit pastry, whipped cream, pastry topping, a thin lemon slice, and one last dusting of powdered sugar.ImageImageImageImage

If not serving right away, chill immediately. Side note: I think my whip cream malfunctioned a little bit, or maybe my dough was not completely cooled. Either way, it still tasted wonderful! Next time I will be sure to have some white chocolate on hand. Wouldn’t that be delightful drizzled on top?

Another side note: Sunday is Bastille Day! Maybe I can make it to the festivities in Dallas’s Bishop Arts Neighborhood.

Until then, au revoir!

Leave a Reply

