Light Summer Pasta with Lemon & Shrimp

Some days, especially on Mondays, you just want to come home and relax and not do anything. This afternoon I had every intention to finish my book and watch The Office. Basically, my plans did not  involve cooking and another blog post in any way.

Hmmmm, I wonder how that plan went.  I didn’t feel like reading another chapter and I had squash calling my name. Every time I opened the fridge, it was like ‘eattttttttt meeeeeeeee!’ I also had carbs on the mind. Last week Design Love Fest posted a recipe for her light summer pasta. I took this recipe, along with all the eat me now or never produce in my fridge, and ran with it. May I present to you my version of Light Summer Pasta with Lemon & Shrimp. Easy, fresh, and satisfying

Image

Ingredients

1 cup Greek yogurt

1 cup shrimp, peeled and de-veined 

3 tbs ricotta cheese

1 zucchini squash, quartered

1/2 cup cherry tomatoes

1/2 cup yellow sunburst tomatoes

4 mini sweet yellow peppers, sliced

4 garlic cloves, minced

1/2 cup baby spinach, chopped

rainbow pasta

zest of 1/2 a lemon

juice of 1/2 a lemon

2 tbs olive oil

2 tsp basil

2 tsp sea salt

2 tsp black pepper

1 tbs Tony Chachere’s Creole seasoning 

ImageImage

The Process

  1. Heat oil in a large saucepan over medium-high heat. Add zucchini squash, garlic, and dried basil leaves. Saute for 5 minutes. Image
  2. Next add sweet peppers, tomatoes, shrimp, lemon juice and zest,and remaining spices. Saute for 15 more minutes. ImageImageImage
  3. Bring water to a boil and cook rainbow pasta until al dente. Image
  4. While the pasta is cooking, roast veggies and shrimp in the oven for about 20 minutes. I topped with diced bacon as an alternative to prosciutto. ImageImage
  5. Finally, toss roasted veggies, Greek yogurt, baby spinach, and pasta in your saucepan. Top with freshly ground black pepper & sea salt and ricotta cheese.ImageImageImage

Cheers to an easy dinner! Cheers to another Monday come and gone!

Leave a Reply

