Red, White & Brunch

My friends and I welcomed in the 2013 edition of the 4th of July with karaoke and cheap drinks. Not only did I wake up to a hangover, but also an American flag? I’ll credit my surge of clepto patriotism to one too many vodka waters.

I awoke with the sun way too early this morning, but shit needed to get done! I promised my roommates we would make brunch, some American waffles. No Belgian today! After putting myself together, Kate and I went to the grocery store to get ingredients for potluck sides later and mimosa ingredients. Hair of the dog. I was still kinda drunk when we were grocery shopping. It was the absolute worst, but at least I looked cute!

ImagePeach and mango mimosas in my blue mason jars!

Image

I based my waffle recipe off one of Martha Stewart’s. I always like to adapt recipes and sub and switch ingredients. The recipe calls for buttermilk, which i forgot to get at the store, so I used Greek yogurt and milk! I love using Greek yogurt in place of other things! I also added vanilla. I think it gives the waffles a sweeter flavor without having to add sugar.

I always like to add fruit to my waffles or pancakes. I used raspberries and chocolate chips in honor of America’s birthday!

Image

Ingredients

8 tbs unsalted butter

2 c all purpose flour

1/4 c brown sugar

1/4 c white sugar

1 tsp baking soda

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp salt

3 eggs at room temperature, separated 

2 c buttermilk (I subbed 1 1/2 c milk + 1/2 c Greek yogurt)

1 tsp vanilla 

Image

The Process

  1. In a large mixing bowl, incorporate all dry ingredients: flour, sugars, salt, baking powder, baking soda, and cinnamon. ImageImageNext, sift together your dry ingredients. ImageImage
  2. In a separate bowl, whisk together your softened butter, buttermilk, vanilla, and egg yolks. It is okay if it appears to be a little chunky, we will take a mixer to it later. Image
  3. In a separate, smaller bowl, beat the egg whites until stiff. ImageImage
  4. Add your dry ingredients to the butter, milk, egg yolk mixture. At this point, you can use an electric mixer without having to worry about milk splattering everywhere. Thanks, flour! ImageFold the egg whites into the batter with a rubber spatula. ImageImageThe batter is finished and Tavi approved! Image
  5. Now all you have to do is pour it onto a waffle iron and add the extras of your choosing!ImageImageI used about 3/4 cup of batter for each waffle, but this will vary depending on the type of iron you have.Image

I topped my finished waffles with a bit of butter, syrup, and a quick dusting of powdered sugar! Image

Though this has not cured my hangover, it definitely brightened my morning! Sorry for not sharing, Gypsy!ImageImage

I hope you all have a very happy 4th of July! Three cheers to friends, food, and fun!

One thought on “Red, White & Brunch

  1. We ended up with pancakes, sans fruit, but similar mind-set! Sounds yummy, and now I want some fruit.

Leave a Reply

