Another Tuesday, Another Tart

I could not for the life of me decide what to make for dinner/tonight’s post! All I knew was that I wanted it to involve butternut squash and goat cheese. You guys should see my recipe journal/planner. I scratched out squash tacos, squash pizza, squash and quinoa salad, even ramen was an option! Phew! Aren’t you glad I am a little bit more creative than that? (Though I make some bomb-ass-doctored-up-not-your-average ramen!)

I was lazy today. Didn’t want to make pizza dough. Didn’t want to make tortillas. Was there an easy in-between? Not to my surprise, there was! And It was in my freezer! I had one roll of puff pastry dough left! I thought to myself, ‘Another Tuesday. Another Tart.’ Image

Kate and I have been talking about how we have been wanting Indian food for some time now, and just last night, my good friend Rayne posted a homemade Indian food Instagram. Needless to say, I was inspired by these two ladies and a craving for curry.

I wanted to make a garlic and onion chutney, but I lacked tamarind. The next best thing was something I know how to do make with my eyes closed and maybe one hand (preferably the left) tied behind my back: salsa! Why don’t I just roast my garlic, tomatoes, and onion as I would normally do for any Mexican dish and just switch out the spices? Some coriander here. A little turmeric there. A heaping tablespoon of yellow curry powder. Wow, I basically made a masala sauce sans the cream! Curry combined with butternut squash and goat cheese, atop a flaky, puffy crust will make your taste buds dance to an Eastern tune. Everyone else won’t want to be tarty to the party!

Curried Butternut Squash Tart with Goat CheeseImage

Ingredients

1 roll puff pastry dough

1 egg, lightly beaten

1/2 butternut squash, peeled and thinly sliced

1 large onion, roughly chopped

6 garlic cloves

1 cup yellow sunburst tomatoes 

3 tbs olive oil

1/4 cup feta cheese

4 oz fresh goat cheese

fresh cilantro

1 tbs yellow curry powder

1 tbs black pepper

2 tsp coriander 

1 tsp turmeric 

2 tbs sea salt

paprika and chipotle powder to taste (for spice)

the juice of 1 large lemonImageImage

The Process

  1. Peel and thinly slice half of a butternut squash. Image
  2. In an oven safe dish, mix together onion, garlic, tomatoes, listed spices, and 2 tbs olive oil. Make sure all surfaces are coated with olive oil. Roast under a broiler for about 20 minutes. When finished roasting, pulse in a blender for 30 seconds with lemon juice. The consistency should be smooth, resembling salsa. ImageImage
  3. On a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper, unroll your defrosted puff pastry. Spread your “masala” sauce sauce on the inside. Brush the edges of the dough with your beaten egg. ImageImage
  4. Layer the slices of butternut squash over the masala sauce. Sprinkle feta cheese on top, and fold the ends of the puff pastry over. Brush the edges with egg. Image
  5. Bake at 350 degrees for approximately 30 minutes. By this time, the pastry dough should have puffed up nicely. Image
  6. Returning to the cutting board, chop cilantro and goat cheese. Sprinkle on top of the tart and bake for 15 more minutes.ImageImage

And you are finished! So easy! Maybe that is why tart can be derogatory? Well in my kitchen, the easier the better! Happy Almost Fourth of July! ImageImageImage

2 thoughts on “Another Tuesday, Another Tart

Leave a Reply

