Fish Tacos on Homemade Corn Tortillas

Do you guys want to know my favorite thing to eat? Alright I’ll tell ya!

Tacos!

I could seriously eat them any time of the day! Hailing from San Antonio, I know tacos. I know that a taco is not a taquito. I know a taco is not a burrito. I know that tacos are easy and pretty hard to mess up, but sadly it can be done. I was raised on tacos. As far back as I can remember, my dad has taken me to the best hole in the wall, mom and pop places. Chorizo and egg tacos on fluffy homemade tortillas with a big glass of sweet tea was my go to!

I was raised on breakfast tacos. Never had I ever had a fish taco until I moved to the North Texas area. Strange thing! But now they are one of my favorite things! Oh yeah, I used to be a flour only kind of girl Now I die over homemade corn tortillas that are thick and chewy.

Fish tacos are actually very easy to make! So easy for a quick, delicious lunch or dinner!Image

Ingredients (For One)

Prepared masa mix (Maseca corn flour, salt, lime juice, water, oil)

queso fresco cheese

1 tilapia fillet

1 large Ziplock freezer bag

lime wedges

chopped yellow onion, red bell pepper, and cilantro

spices to taste: cumin, chipotle, salt, pepper, garlic

ImageImage

I normally make my masa from scratch- very easy! But in this case I took the easy way out and bought premade masa mix because I plan to make papusas at some point during the week. This cut out about 15 minutes or prep time. No need for a tortilla press either! Tortillas can be formed and pressed easily and mess free using regular kitchen utensils.

The Process

  1. In your hands, form masa mix into golf sized balls. Cut the sides of a large freezer bag and place the masa inside the middle of the bag. Image
  2. Using a pie pan or plate, press down on top of the bag to flatten. ImageImage
  3. If need be, go over plastic bag with a rolling pin. Open the bag and peel the formed tortilla off. Non-stick! Image
  4. Heat 2 tbs oil in a cast iron skillet and cook for about 45 seconds to 1 minute on each side. ImageImage
  5. In the same skillet heat more oil and saute your onions and peppers and fish fillet. Season with the listed spices to taste. Image
  6. Now all you need to do is assemble your taco! Tortilla, fish, sauteed veggies, cheese, cilantro, lime juice!ImageImage

Now that you know how to make corn tortillas, your taco possibilities are endless! Next I will teach you how to make flour tortillas. Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Fish Tacos on Homemade Corn Tortillas

  1. Pingback: Chorizo & Cheddar Pupusas | Casa y Cocina

Leave a Reply

