Over the weekend: Food, Fun, and Friends

It is always a great weekend when great food and even better friends are involved. It is also nice getting out of Denton for a little bit. Combine all of those aforementioned things, and you have my recipe for the last three days. Food, friends, places, and spaces.

Friday night was spent drinking two of my favorite beverages: frozen margaritas and ice cold palomas. My great friend and the other half of Casa Y Cocina lives in walking distance from so many cool places in Dallas. One of these places is Gloria’s Mexican Restaurant on Greenville Avenue. A little more upscale that your typical Mexican eatery, I normally just go for the drinks and patio camaraderie. I ended up trying one of their papusas. It was pretty good, and I am now on the search for an easy yet authentic recipe. Image

Saturday was also spent in Dallas, but before making our way south, our hangovers needed to be cured. Some people swear by a big bowl of menudo, I swear by an overstuffed carne guisada gordita. A tiny hole in the wall restaurant here in Denton specializes in both of these! I think my liberal addition of spicy salsa verde helps me to sweat out all the alcohol. Wash it all down with mango juice and *bam* your headache is gone. ***WARNING*** Taco Lady does induce naps.Image

Later that afternoon I got to patronize a Dallas establishment that’s been on my list for quite some time. The Libertine Bar, also on Greenville Avenue, has a wide selection of local beers, mouthwatering dishes that surprise you as bar food, and the kind of environment that makes you want to stay awhile. I wish I had been in the mood for beer that day. Instead I settled for a decadent Gruyere Mac & Cheese with jalapenos and Sirracha. So spicy! So creamy! Tres riche!Image

It was at the Libertine that my boyfriend brought up that it was our 11 months. I guess I had been so busy with life or maybe it was the night before, but it totally slipped my mind! Ahhh, I felt awful. 11 months of getting to know my best friend & 11 months of cooking wonderful meals together, one more to go and we’ll have a solid year!Image

In light of our 11 months together, Jonathan made me a lovely (and so deliciously amazing) brunch on Sunday. My mouth is still watering over those perfectly seasoned scrambled eggs speckled with peppers, onions, and spinach. Image

After brunch, I satisfied my craving for Mexican pastries and spent some time out in the sun. I hope you all had a lovely weekend filled with food and friends as well. This week, I am excited to share with you some new recipes I have been meaning to try as well as a back burner DIY project! It is also the last week of June! My how time flies! Image

Leave a Reply

