A Tuesday Tart

Why have I been craving wintertime food? Summer has not even officially started and all I want are tarts, quiches, and warm and hearty soups. After coming across this beautiful potato and kale tart on The Kitchy Kitchen/Pinterest I HAD to experiment! After making a few adjustments to the recipe, I came up with A Most Delicious Potato and Arugula Tart with Parmesan and Ricotta Cheese! Image

I have never worked with Phyllo dough before (but I guess I had planned to since I had it in the freezer?), so I was a little intimidated. Other than that, the recipe seemed pretty easy. A quick trip to the grocery store for some produce and a sneaky snip from my next door neighbor’s rosemary bush was as extensive as it got. The majority of time was dedicated to slicing and buttering. Once you get over the fact that Phyllo is the tissue paper or doughs, you find yourself in a rhythm > layer, butter, repeat! This is the perfect recipe for a brunch, tea party, baby shower, special occasion, or any occasion! The Phyllo makes it lighter than a quiche, and my generous use of garlic and rosemary really bring out this tart’s savory side!

Ingredients

6 small red potatoes, thinly sliced

1/2 large sweet yellow onion, thinly sliced

2 cups baby arugula

6 garlic cloves, minced

3 sprigs fresh rosemary

1 cup Parmesan cheese

1 cup Ricotta cheese

2 tbs melted butter

2 tbs extra virgin olive oil

Seasoning mixture: 1 tbs sea salt, 2 tsp fresh black pepper, 1 tsp basil, 1 tsp oregano, 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper Image

The Process

As I mentioned earlier, once you get your chopping done, the majority of time will be spent buttering and layering your Phyllo.

  1. Thinly slice your onion and potatoes. If you have a kitchen utensil called a mandolin, I suggest you use it! I was unable to locate one at the grocery store so I carefully sliced away with a sharp knife, trying very diligently to not cut off my fingers. Image
  2. Next, melt your butter, mix your spices, and wash your rosemary. Image
  3. Lightly butter and dust a pie dish before you begin the layering process. Also be careful with the Phyllo! Treat is as you would damp tissue paper since that is basically what it is. ImageI used about 1/3 of a sealed package. There were two packages in the box. So much left over! I may just have to jump in to Greek food next! (I feel like today really allowed me to dip my toes in.)  Carefully layer your Phyllo into the pie dish starting in the middle and allowing it to hand over the ends and outside of the pan. We will fold this over later. You want your bottom layer of Phyllo to be about 1/4th inch thick, or roughly about as thick as a pie crust would be. Image
  4. Layer your veggies, cheese, and spices starting with the potatoes. Be sure to liberally drizzle that olive oil between layers, too! I made a pattern that went sort of like this: potato, onion, arugula, cheese, garlic, spices, olive oil, repeat. See what  mean about layering?! Once you’ve used everything up, carefully brush those Phyllo edges and fold over. ImageImage
  5. Bake in a preheated oven at 350 degrees for about 40 minutes or until the Top layer of Phyllo reaches a golden brown color and begins to flake. Image

Allow about 10 minutes for cooling then you may slice and serve. This tart is almost like eating air, if air were light and savory. I can’t wait to make a seasonal tart using the same method. Summer squash and roasted tomato? Sounds good enough to me! Enjoy & happy Tuesday!

Image

XOXO

3 thoughts on “A Tuesday Tart

Leave a Reply

