Over the Weekend: DIY DIY DIY

Sometimes the best way to spruce up a space is by adding some color. In this weekend’s case, a bookshelf was painted.

As a post-grad still living on a college student paycheck, I don’t have the funds to go out and purchase brand new, matching furniture. The majority of my pieces have been acquired through family or friends, thrift stores, estate sales, and even the side of the road. Needless to say, almost everything is mismatched, but when put together, their color palettes and textures all give off that vintage vibe.

Next month, we will be moving into a 100+ year old 4-plex. Our Victorian mansion’s unit comes equipped with the original hardwood floors (swoon), a bay window (double swoon), and quite possibly one of the largest porches I have ever hung out on. I am already super stoked about decorating and have been combing Pinterest /sketching away designs in my notebook for the last couple weeks. As I said earlier, theΒ majorityΒ of my pieces are vintage and go well together though technically mismatched. Most except for one.

I bought this sweet bookshelf/record holder from my cool roomie, Katrien, before she moved to Boston last summer. I absolutely love this piece! The only problem is that it’s black laminate Ikea wood doesn’t really go with anything else that I have. I decided to paint it! My mom spray painted my dresser as a kid, so if Shannon could do it, so could I!

I chose an avocado green and it turned out perfect! Gypsy approved!Image

This little DIY project took an entire day when you factor in dry time. Kate and I sat on the porch and watched the paint dry, which contrary to popular belief, was not that boring!

We took the easy and inexpensive route with this project: no sanding and ample aerosol can usage. It is important to keep yourself hydrated when working outside. We managed with a few game starting shots and cocktails.

ImageImage

2 cans of primer. 3 hours of dry time. 3 cans of Valspar spray paint. 6 more hours of dry time.

Image

And voila! I had planned on leaving the shelf outside overnight to dry, but rain was suddenly in the forecast (crazy Texas Weather). After letting the paint set for 48 hours, I figured it was safe to put everything back in its place.

Image

I think I did a pretty good job. What do you think? I absolutely can’t wait to see it in the new place!

Leave a Reply

