Grapefruit Bars

You know, honestly, my grapefruit obsession is fairly recent. Until I built up my relationship with the Texas Ruby Red, grapefruit, to me, was just another diet food served alongside a bowl of 0% cottage cheese. Ugh gag. Makes me think of breakfast after an early swim team practice.

As the spring starts its transition into summer, I find myself liking grapefruit more and more! Mix it with champagne for a more airy mimosa. Squeeze juice over tequila, ice cubes, and soda water for a delightfully refreshing Paloma. Or, just eat a half with a piece of toast for breakfast! Let’s not even get me started on Shiner’s summer brew- Ruby Red Bird.

I found inspiration for this post after looking over one of my favorite blogs. Grapefruit cookies, which sound and look droolworthy, made me think of lemon bars. I thought to myself, “why not switch fruits?” Oh yeah. I did just that.

Initially I wanted to use a recipe published by David Lebovitz, but alas I left my food journal at work and was too lazy to find the recipe online via my phone. The following recipe was adapted from a basic lemon bar recipe via Allrecipes.

Here is what you will need for this oh-so easy dessert:

Crust

1/2 cup butter (2 sticks) softened

1/2 cup white granulated sugar

2 cups all purpose flour

1 tsp vanilla

Filling

4 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

1 1/2 cups fresh squeezed Ruby Red Grapefruit juicen(2-3 grapefruits)

2 tbs grapefruit zest

2 cups granulated sugar

3/4 cups flour

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp baking powder

The Process

Prep time for this dessert is probably 15 minutes tops for both the crust and filling combined! You also won’t use a ton of dishes, making cleanup a breeze! Starting by making the crust is the best decision because it can be refrigerated for later use if need be. Also, you can work on the filling and watch your dog nap while it is baking in the oven.

Image

  1. In a large mixing bowl, cream together your sugar, butter and vanilla. slowly work the flour in with a large spoon or spatula until it resembles a texture similar to cookie dough. ImageCongratulations! You just made shortbread!
  2. Pat your dough onto the bottom and sides of a baking dish (I used a glass pie dish) as you would if you were making a cheesecake crust. I wanted the crust for these bars to be thick, so don’t worry! There will still be room for the filling!Image
  3. Bake in a preheated oven at 350 degrees for 20 minutes or until golden brown. ImageGypsy napped while I started the process for the filling, which took a whole 5 minutes. Image
  4. In a large mixing bow (I used the same bowl to lighten my dish load) whisk together the eggs, grapefruit juice and zest, and vanilla. Add your dry ingredients and whisk together until smooth.Image
  5. Once the crust is finished, let it cool for about 5 minutes.Image
  6. Pour your grapefruit filling into the semi cooled crust and pop in the oven for about 40-50 minutes.Image
  7. You might want to use the ol’ toothpick trick to make sure the center is completely finished. ImageIt may look a little wobbly, but once completely cooled, the bars will firm up.
  8. Dust with powdered sugar, cut into 2×3 inch squares, and try not to fight over who gets and end piece!ImageImageImage

There you have it, a grapefruit bar! I personally think they are a million times better than a lemon bar because they lack the tartness. Kudos to my bright idea of adding vanilla! Oh yea, Allrecipes said these were “low calorie”. I say it’s dessert and it doesn’t matter.

P.S. Even my non grapefruit and sweets fans adored these tasty treats!

One thought on “Grapefruit Bars

  1. Annie, Your grapefruit bars are amazing. Thanks for sharing them at work, they helped me get through my afternoon slump. They are tasty and beautiful.

Leave a Reply

