For the Love of Lattice

It is no secret that I absolutely love to bake. Let it also be known that pies are my favorite thing to make. For such a proficient pie slinger, it pains me to admit that I had not made a lattice crusted pie until recently- in the last year to be exact! Since making my relationship with baking official, I’ve recently put a lot of thought into why this was so. I love to braid hair, and this is basically the same thing if not a million times easier.

These days I get urges to lattice. I want to do it to everything! Fortunately enough, the opportunity presents itself on the regular.

Image

Over the weekend, we celebrated the birthday of one of my good friends. To no one’s surprise, a whole bunch of baking was involved, including a birthday pie!

The pie crust i decided to go with is probably obvious after reading this posting’s title and further along ramblings. I used the same dough recipe from Hoosier Mama, blogged here. I changed things up by using lavender infused salt rather than the regular kosher.

Blackberries have been cheap at my local supermarket, so of course this was my go-to filling. Cherries or blueberries would work just as well. The following recipe is as easy as pie!

Blackberry Pie

4 cups fresh blackberries 

1 tsp pure vanilla extract

1 tsp fresh lemon juice

3/4 cup granulated sugar

3 tbs corn starch

1 tsp tapioca starch

pinch lavender infused (or regular ol’) kosher salt

2 tbs butter cut into tiny pieces

1 tsp flour + 1 tsp sugar for crust dusting

1 egg + 1 tbs water for crust washing

coarse grain sugar for sprinkling (pre-bake) OR powdered sugar for dusting (post-bake)

  1. In a large bowl, combine blackberries, lemon juice, and vanilla.
  2. In a separate bowl, whisk together dry ingredients.
  3. Using a rubber spatula, gently mix the dry ingredients into the larger bowl with the berries.
  4. Dust a prepared pie shell with crust dust, then add the pie filling. The flour and sugar combo actually helps to thicken out all the berry juice upon cooling!
  5. Using a pastry cutter, pizza cutter, knife, or anything sharp, cut out dough strips for your lattice. Thick or thin. Thick and thin. Over-under. Under-over. There is no real right way to weave your lattice crust. Be creative! I have a problem with cutting straight lines, so I went with bigger and fewer strips.
  6. Once finished with your weave, roll and crimp your edges and brush with pie wash.
  7. Sprinkle or dust with your chosen sugar before or after baking. Or not at all! This last step is for aesthetic purposes only.

ImageImageImageImage

I urge you to go ahead and try latticing something! Then go braid your hair!

Happy baking.

One thought on “For the Love of Lattice

Leave a Reply

